Who are The Way Series main characters?

As we are getting closer to the release date of The Street’s Way, I am thinking about the main characters in The Way Series. Paul Jones, Shawn Townson, and Mikala Lalani. Each one navigates the teen challenge presented in each of The Way Series books. Let’s take a look at each one

The Way Series

Book #1 – The Hard Way

The Hard Way - book #1 of The Way Series

Book #1 of The Way Series is called The Hard Way. The teen challenge it focuses on is peer pressure. Peer pressure is any type of influence, positive or negative, that comes from a peer group. This peer group can be a group that is all the same age or a group that holds similar interests. We hear the phrase resisting peer pressure which could say that the pressure is negative. But, some of it is positive pressure to help us make a good choice we are just scared to make. Resisting peer pressure is more about stopping to consider whether the decision is right for you, and not to let your peers determine that for you.

In The Hard Way, Paul Jones gives into the pressure of his peers and does something he wouldn’t normally do. He sets up an explosive device under his high school’s football bleachers. He doesn’t want to do it, but he doesn’t want to let the guys in his “gang” down either.

Shawn's Way - Book#2 of The Way Series

Book #2 – Shawn’s Way

Book #2 in The Way Series is called Shawn’s Way. The teen challenge this book focuses on is bullying.

The dictionary definition of bullying is: The use of superior strength or influence to intimidate someone typically to force him or her to do what they want. When the definition is adjusted for the school version, according to StopBullying.Gov bullying is the unwanted aggressive behavior among school aged children that involves a real or perceived power imbalance. One of the other parts of the definition is that the person who is the one who bullies continues the behavior, even when told to stop.

In Shawn’s Way, Sawn Townson is chosen to be a target by Josh Alberts. Upon starting his senior year, Josh found out he was no longer a member of the varsity baseball team at Mulston High School, as a consequence of being involved in setting the explosive device under the bleachers at Paul’s high school. Josh needed someone to take it out on and picked Shawn, his teammate Caleb Townson’s younger brother. Through the book, we see how Shawn navigates his freshmen year of high school as a tager of a bully.

The Street's Way  - Book #3 in The Way Sereis

Book #3 – The Street’s Way

And, Book #3 in The Way Series is The Street’s Way. It focuses on the issues of teen homelessness. In the United States, a homeless youth is someone who is under the age of 21 and is unable to safely live with a relative and has no other safe alternative living arrangement. They will runaway from home to find an alternative living situation. According to the National Network for Youth, the vast majority of youth do not become homeless by choice. For most youths, instability in their current living situation forces them out on the streets before they are adults.

In The Street’s Way, Mikala Lalani runs away from home to get away from abuse she is receiving from her stepdad, Joel. She runs to a big city figuring that Joel will not find her there. But, she didn’t think about where she would stay or how she would live in the city she really knew nothing about.

Looking for resources for these teen issues?

There are many reason why The Way Series can be a helpful resource for you and your teen. The books focus on challenges they are facing, but more importantly are relatable stories for you and your teen to learn from. So, if you or your teen is struggling with one of these challenges, check out The Way Series book that talks about it. (See the descriptions below)

As you read about each of the books in The Way Series, do you know about the issues these books are focusing on? Do you want to know a place where you can go to learn more about them? Mentoring A Dream (MAD) is a website that focuses on the issues that teens face. It is a great resource for parents and caring adults to help the teens in their lives. The MAD website is a companion site to Selma’s to talk about the issues discussed in The Way Series.

In addition to the information presented on MAD, there is a Resources page that lists out resources for some of the issues that teens face. Be sure to take a look and let me know if there are other resources that you find helpful.

Novels focusing on teen challenges – The Way Series

Looking for a couple of coming-of-age reads for you or your teen about challenges they face? Here is a great option, The Way Series. It is the series which I wrote under my pen name, Selma P. Verde.

The Way Series

Book #1The Hard Way – is the story of Paul Jones and his starting his freshman year of high school and how he must navigate dealing with pressure from his peers to do things to fit in.

Book #2Shawn’s Way – although it is a continuation of Paul’s journey from The Hard Way, we meet freshman, Shawn Townson. He becomes the target of a bully when an upperclassman decides to take out his frustration on him.

Book #3The Street’s Way – is a continuation of The Way Series which introduces Mikala Kalani to the storyline as a runaway and homeless teen. Coming your way on May 9, 2024.

So, click on link below to my books page to learn more about the series! And, pick up your copies before the release of The Street’s Way.

Selma’s Books

Have a good week!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Discover more from Selma P. Verde

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading